Jeet Thayil among 24 selected for Sahitya Akademi Awards

Booker-nominated Jeet Thayil and Bengali novelist Subrata Mukhopadhyaya were among the 24 authors selected for this year’s Sahitya Akademi Awards, which was dominated by poets.

Twelve of the 24 awards went to works of poets, which included K Sachitandandan (Malayalam — ‘Marannu Vacha Vazhikal’), late Bal Krishna ‘Bhaura’ (Dogri — ‘Tim—Tim Karde Tare’) and Makhan Lal Kanwal (Kashmiri — ‘Yath Aangnaz Manz’).

Thayil, whose novel ‘Narcopolis’ was shortlisted for Booker Prize, was selected for his poetry collection ‘These Errors are Correct’ in English category.

The Akademi said 12 books of poetry, six short story collections, four novels and one each of autobiography and criticism were selected for the awards this year, two of them posthumously.

Read more