“Celebrate Singapore Books” Fair to be held on 16 June; The Singapore Book Awards revived

Celebrate Singapore BooksThe Singapore Book Publishers Association (SBPA) and Isetan Singapore will celebrate Singapore publishing by organising a “Celebrate Singapore Books” fair from 16 to 30 June 2015. The fair will also be the site of several book signings, a reading corner and an exhibition on books published in Singapore since 1965.

The Singapore Book Publishers Association is a trade association formed in 1968, to protect and promote the book publishing industry in Singapore. The SBPA now comprises 66 members, which publish in a wide range of topics in the four official languages of Singapore. Our members include SMEs and the top multinational publishing groups.

The whole space of Isetan Wisma Atria basement level (some 15,000 square feet) will be converted into a sales and exhibition area made up of Singapore publishers featuring local writers and illustrators in the English, Malay and Mandarin languages. A wide range of books will be available for purchase, from trade best-sellers to religious books, children’s books and educational and assessment books. All will be available for purchase, many at special prices, to promote literacy and the joy of reading during the school holidays.


The Singapore Book Publishers Association is pleased to announce the revival of the Singapore Book Awards for 2015. The Singapore Book Awards aims to promote the finest of the book publishing industry in Singapore. Nominations are now open till 31 August, and the winners will be announced at a gala cocktail event in conjunction with the Singapore Writers’ Festival in November 2015.


The Singapore Book Awards will be awarded annually by the Singapore Book Publishers Association (SBPA) to the author/publisher of the best (in the opinion of the judges) eligible title.

Each year’s panel of judges is appointed by the SBPA Executive Committee. The awards will be awarded by the SBPA. The winning author/publisher will be authorised to display the award title on their book covers for a period of 12 months after winning the award.


The Singapore Book Awards are divided into the following categories:

Book of the Year

Best Fiction Title

Best Non-Fiction Title

Best Children’s Title

Best Educational Title

Best Young Adult Title

Best Book Cover Design

Best Digital Work

Entry is open to all publishers with a Singapore ISBN. Entry forms will be available from the Singapore Book Publishers Association Secretariat by July 1st.