NMTL unveils Taiwan literature award winners

Winners of the 2015 Taiwan Literature Awards were unveiled Nov. 9 by the Tainan City-based National Museum of Taiwan Literature, which granted a total of NT$1.8 million (US$54,791) in prizes to five outstanding writers.

Works by novelists Wu Ming-yi and Gan Yao-ming, poet Wu Cheng, playwright Shen Wan-ting and Hakka short story writer Yeh Kuo-chu came out on top in the awards’ four genres. 

In “The Stolen Bicycle,” novelist Wu writes about the pursuit of a missing bike. The protagonist follows in his father’s journey from the lands of the indigenous Tsou group, Wanhua District in Taipei City and military dependents’ villages in Kaohsiung to Malaysia and the forests of northern Myanmar, all the while painting a portrait of common people’s lives during the Second Sino-Japanese War (1937-1945) and the turbulent era afterward.

Read More

One comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s