June 10, 2023


Connecting Asian writers with global readers

Literary News: Call for Submissions-2023 Moore Prize for Human Rights Writing

2 min read

The 2023 Moore Prize for Human Rights Writing is now open for submissions

The 2023 Moore Prize for Human Rights Writing is now open for submissions. The Prize was established in 2015 to provide funds to authors who, through their work, contribute to the universality and understanding of human rights. Last year the Prize was awarded to Nury Turkel for No Escape – The True Story of China’s Genocide of the Uyghurs.

The 2023 judges are Geoffrey Robertson, a human rights lawyer, author, and Founding Head of the Doughty Street Chambers; Dr. Roja Fazaeli, Professor of Islamic Civilisations, Fellow of Trinity College Dublin, and former board member of the Irish Refugee Council, and Amnesty International Ireland; and Dr. Jacqueline Dugard, Senior Lecturer in the Discipline of Human Rights and Political Science, Columbia University.

The criteria are:

1. Books must be first published between 1 July 2022 and 30 June 2023.

2. It is an international award open to authors worldwide.

3. It is a prize for non-fiction, written in or translated into English.

4. Works should contribute to the understanding and universality of human rights, promote human rights, and/or bring attention to human rights abuses/violations or solutions.

5. Submission is free.

6. Because the Prize judges are located internationally, we prefer books to be submitted in electronic form.

7. The winner of the Prize will receive £1000. The winner will be announced on 10 January 2024

Submissions must be received before 30 May 2023.

More information about the Moore Prize, its criteria, judges, and previous winners can be found at: www.cgmoorefoundation.org

Please do get in touch if you have any questions about the prize or a particular book’s eligibility. If you would like to submit a book or books for the 2023 Moore Prize, you can do so here: www.cgmoorefoundation.org/prize/submissions