Indian diplomat-poet among five to get SAARC Literature Award 2013

Leave a comment

Indian diplomat-cum-poet Abhay K has been given the SAARC Literature Award for 2013 along with four other luminaries – poet Suman Pokhrel of Nepal, script writer and poet Farheen Chaudhary of Pakistan, Abdul Khaliq Rashid of Afghanistan and novelist Daya Dissanayake of Sri Lanka.

The awards were given away at the recently held SAARC Festival of Literature 2013 function in Agra, Uttar Pradesh.
The awards were given away in the presence of over 100 delegates from Afghanistan, Bhutan, Bangladesh, India, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka.

Dr. Suresh K. Goel, Director General of the Indian Council of Cultural Relations, gave away the awards at the Grand Hotel in Agra.

The SAARC Literature Award is given annually to eminent writers from the South Asian region who have contributed to the promotion of literature in the region through their writings and literary initiatives.

Read More


Author: Zafar Anjum

I am a writer based in Singapore.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s