Penguin Books revives novels by Raja Rao in its Modern Classics Series

Penguin Books has brought out three famous novels by iconic writer Raja Rao and a collection of his short stories under its Modern Classics series.

The four books – “Collected Stories”, “Kanthapura”, “The Cat and Shakespeare” and “The Serpent and the Rope” – have an introduction by poet-translator R Parthasarathy.
He describes Rao as one of the most innovative novelists of the 20th century who departed boldly from the European tradition of the novel, which he indigenised in the process of assimilating material from the Indian literary tradition.

The vibrant tales in “Collected Stories” traverse the entire span of Rao’s literary career and reveal his deep understanding of village life and his passion for India’s freedom struggle besides showcasing his experimentation with form and style.

Read More

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s