June 7, 2023


Connecting Asian writers with global readers

Richard Flanagan accepts literature chair at Melbourne University

1 min read

Richard Flanagan will today join a group of elite authors who have made academe their second home. Salman Rushdie, JM Coetzee, Maya Angelou, Zadie Smith and EL Doctorow are a few of the many literary types to have straddled the academic and creative worlds.

The Tasmanian-born author of The Narrow Road to the Deep North, for which he won the 2014 Man Booker Prize, will be formally welcomed today as the Boisbouvier founding chair in Australian literature at the University of Melbourne.

You need to be logged in to view the rest of the content. Please . Not a Member? Join Us