June 4, 2023


Connecting Asian writers with global readers

Australia: Tim Winton and Richard Flanagan on 2014 Miles Franklin Award longlist

1 min read

There could hardly be a more carefully balanced longlist than the 11 Australian novels chosen for the Miles Franklin Literary Award.

The judges included Aboriginal authors, women, veterans, newcomers and a generous interpretation of the award’s search for depictions of ”Australian life” in a strong but unexpected line-up that so far allays past concern about male dominance of the $60,000 award.

You need to be logged in to view the rest of the content. Please . Not a Member? Join Us