Tan Twan Eng’s The Garden of Evening Mists shortlisted for IMPAC Dublin Literary Award

Titles in translation dominate shortlist for world’s most valuable literary prize: The Telegraph

Tan Twan Eng-The Garden of Evening MistsThe only Asian writer to feature on the recently announced IMPAC Dublin Literary Award is Tan Twan Eng with his marvelous novel, The Garden of Evening Mists.

This year’s shortlist features 10 writers from across the globe, including five novels in translation from Argentina, Colombia, France, Norway and the Netherlands. The only title by a UK author to make the list is The Light of Amsterdam by Northern Irish novelist David Park.

The IMPAC, which has been awarded annually since 1996, is the world’s most valuable literary prize, with the winner receiving £82,000. Nominations for the prize are made by participating libraries in capital and major cities across the world, who can nominate up to three novels each year. This year, over 400 library services in 177 countries worldwide participated.

IMPAC Dublin Literary Award Shortlist

The Detour – Gerbrand Bakker (Harvill Secker)

Questions of Travel – Michelle De Kretser (Allen & Unwin)

Absolution – Patrick Flanery (Atlantic Books)

A Death in the Family – Karl Ove Knausgaard (Harvill Secker)

Three Strong Women – Marie NDiaye (Quercus)

Traveller of the Century – Andrés Neuman (Pushkin Press)

The Light of Amsterdam – David Park (Bloomsbury)

The Spinning Heart – Donal Ryan (Doubleday)

The Garden of Evening Mists – Tan Twan Eng (Myrmidon)

The Sound of Things Falling – Juan Gabriel Vásquez (Bloomsbury)

Read More

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s