Who Will Win the Nobel Prize in Literature?

Haruki MurakamiThe Swedish Academy doesn’t reveal well in advance the date it will announce the winner of the Nobel Prize in Literature, but brokers expect a successor to last year’s winner, Patrick Modiano of France, will be named on a Thursday, possibly Oct. 15.

While keeping cards close to its chest, the Swedish Academy has distilled some information about this year’s entries, fueling talk in literary circles and helping feed bookie charts.

The academy received 259 proposals from publishing houses, literary societies and universities, according to Peter Englund, who stepped down as the body’s permanent secretary in May. Members first retained 198 names — including 36 authors who had never been proposed before — and gradually shortened the list down to five this summer, Mr. Englund said.

Here are the names currently topping the charts of U.K.-based bookmaker Ladbrokes:

Read More

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s