Tata Literature Live! The Mumbai LitFest makes its fourth appearance at the NCPA from November 14, 2013 – November 17, 2013. On Wednesday, November 06, 2013, the longlist for the Tata Literature Live! First Book Award was announced. This year, the award will be given for two categories: Fiction & Non-Fiction.

The shortlist in the fiction and non-fiction categories will be released soon.

Last year, The Tata Literature Live! First Book Award was given to Ruchir Sharma for his book Breakout Nations. The books in the longlist for the 2103 award are

Non – Fiction

1 Ayodhya – The Dark Night Krishna Jha and Dhirendra K Jha HarperCollins

2 Butterflies on the Roof of the World Peter Smetacek Aleph

3 Conquering the Chaos — Win in India, Win Everywhere Ravi Venkatesan Harvard Business Review Press

4 In Good Faith Saba Naqvi Rupa

5 Indianomix Vivek Dehejia and Rupa Subramanya Random House

6 Righteous Republic Ananya Vajpeyi Harvard University Press

7  Stringer: A Reporter`s Journey in the Congo Anjan Sundaram Penguin

Banker and New York based- author Ruchir Sharma was awarded the Tata Literature Live! First Book Award for his Breakout Nations: In Pursuit of the Next Economic Miracles at the Mumbai Litfest on Sunday.

Mr. Sharma, who was unable to attend, was presented the prestigious honour along with a cash prize of 1 lakh on day four of the festival by R. Gopalakrishnan, Director, Tata Sons.

“It’s a distinct privilege to be recognised at such an illustrious platform and I thank Tata Literature Live! and the kind jurors for bestowing me with this award,” said Mr. Sharma, in a message read out on his behalf.