India: Tata Lit Fest honours MT Vasudevan Nair, poet Joy Goswami

Other winners include Damon Galgut, Rana Dasgupta, Mahesh Rao and T M Krishna.

Renowned Malayalam writer MT Vasudevan Nair was honoured with the Life-time Achievement Award at the fifth ‘Tata Literature Live!, the largest literary festival of the megapolis on 2 November, in Mumbai, India.

The 81-year-old Nair, popularly known as “MT”, is one of the most renowned authors, screenplay writers and film directors in Malayalam today. In 1995, he was honoured with the highest literary award the Jnanpith Award for his overall contribution to the Malayalam literature.

The festival also bestowed the first Poet Laureate of India Award to renowned Bengali poet Joy Goswami, which marked the launch of the ‘silver edition’ of ‘The Great Indian Novel’ by Congress leader Shashi Tharoor.

The award nite also saw the Book of The Year Award in the fiction category going to ‘Artic Summer’ by South African novelist Damon Galgut, and ‘Capital’, by Rana Dasgupta winning the same award in the non-fiction category.

While the first book award in the fiction category went to debut novelist Mahesh Rao for ‘The Smoke is Rising’, the same award for the non-fiction category went to ‘A Southern Music: The Karnatik Story’ by T M Krishna.

The award for the best business book of the year was grabbed by Rajiv Narang and Devika Devaiah for their book ‘Orbit Shifting: The Dynamics of Ideas that Create History’.

Read More

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s