Five novels win top honor of Chinese literature

The Mao Dun Literature Awards only come around once every four years, and they are regarded as the most prestigious trophy in Chinese literature. Let’s look at the five novelists, chosen by the China Writers’ Association this year.

The overall winner was “River South Trilogy”, penned by Tsinghua University professor Ge Fei over more than 10 years. Its timespan runs from China’s 1911 revolution to the present day.
Veteran Writer Wang Meng notched up the second-largest tally of votes with a novel drawing on his experiences in Xinjiang.

The three other winners are: Li Peipu’s work about rural life amid radical social change; Jin Yucheng’s novel about urban life in Shanghai; and Su Tong’s story of how a legal case affected the fates of three teenagers.

Read More